Lake Zoar Authority | August
The Lake Zoar Authority is a multi-town organization consisting of representatives from the four towns that border the lake - Monroe, Newtown, Oxford, and Southbury. The Lake Zoar Authority is tasked with the goals of improving water quality and promoting safe boating on the lake.
Lake Zoar Authority, Lake Zoar, CT, Connecticut, Newtown, Southbury, Oxford, Monroe
archive,date,eltd-core-1.0.3,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,borderland-ver-1.11, vertical_menu_background_opacity, vertical_menu_with_scroll,smooth_scroll,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

August 2020


Areas of Lake Zoar are currently green with visible blooms of cyanobacteria, known as blue-green algae. Some of these cells produce toxins (Microcystin) that can make people and animals sick. Not all of the cells produce the toxin. Presence of the bloom does not indicate...

Lake Zoar Treatment Notice:
Second Herbicide Application
Scheduled for 8-19-20

NOTIFICATION OF AQUATIC TREATMENT SCHEDULING LAKE ZOAR MONROE, NEWTOWN, OXFORD, SOUTHBURY In accordance with CT DEEP, Pesticide Division notification requirements, selected areas of Lake Zoar will be chemically treated with Reward (Diquat) herbicide, targeting control the aquatic nuisance plants Eurasian watermilfoil and curlyleaf pondweed. The second annual...

Microcystin toxin report
for August 5, 2020

Here are the Microcystin toxin report for samples collected Aug 5, 2020. *Jackson Cove beach was not able to be accessed due to fallen trees and power lines.   "Microcystin Report Samples collected August 5, 2020   Site     ppb (ug/L) Beseck   0.516 Brookfield   0.314 Danbury   0.341 Eichler’s Cove   0.902 New Fairfield   0.289 New Milford   0.159 Sherman   0.116   Results meet the...


Lake Zoar Authority  P.O. Box 931 Southbury, CT 06488 Email: Member Towns Monroe-Newtown-Oxford-Southbury     The regular meeting of the Lake Zoar Authority was held Monday, August 3, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. online via Zoom:   Commissioners Present: Ed Kusinski, Vice Chairman Bob Mouchantat, Treasurer Lesley Pires, Secretary Frank Cavallo Herbert Garber Bill May Dick Speer Jeff Thomas   Absent: Gary Fillion, Chariman John Downs Mark Saksa   Ed...