Lake Zoar Authority

P.O. Box 931 Southbury, CT 06488 Email: info@lakezoarauthority.org

Member Towns

Monroe-Newtown-Oxford-Southbury

The regular meeting of the Lake Zoar Authority was held on Tuesday, January 9, 2024 at 7:00 pm at the Southbury Town Hall.

Commissioners Present:
Barbara McWilliams, Chairwoman
Tony Fischetti
James Galarneau
Tim Glover
Dennis Lawler
Jerry Kozera
John Morin
Lesley Pires
Mark Saksa
Dick Speer

Absent: John Downs

Call to Order

Chairwoman Barbara McWilliams called the meeting to order at 7:14 pm.

Secretary's Report:

A motion to accept the minutes from the December 5, 2023 meetings was made by Mark Saksa seconded by Dick Speer; the motion was passed unanimously.

Public Comments:

None.

Treasurer's Report:

Chairwoman Barbara McWilliams reported she submitted a new annual treasury report to all member towns with financials and expenses. The current account balances with cash on hand equal \$120,467.92. A motion to pass the treasurer's report was made by Dick Speer seconded by Dennis Lawler, the motion was passed unanimously.

Marine Patrol Report:

Marine Patrol Coordinator Dan Semosky reported that both patrol boats are in storage.

Publicity/ Public Awareness:

Dennis Lawler reported that he is working on setting up an email blast service to website subscribers.

Water Quality

Weed Treatment Committee:

Chairperson Barb McWilliams reported that she will inquire about the weed treatment plans for this coming season. Th LZA will be working with Pond and Lake, First Light Power, and CT DEEP to survey and treat Lake Zoar with a very aggressive invasive species named Hydrilla. The Housatonic River variant is Moesha. There will be much more information in the coming months.

Water Quality Monitoring Committee:

Tim Glover reported that the committee will organize last season's water quality data for public display online.

Boats and Motors Report:

None.

Grants:

None.

Bylaws:

Members had no changes to the Bylaws. Proposals will be accepted until the February meeting.

Unfinished Business:

Tony Fischetti was appointed to the LZA as commissioner by the Newtown First Selectman in December.

New Business

Election of Officers:

Barbara McWilliams was unanimously elected for Chairwoman, nominated by Dick Speer, seconded by Dennis Lawler.

Lesley Pires was unanimously elected for Secretary, nominated by Dick Speer, seconded by Mark Saska.

Tony Fischetti was unanimously elected for Treasurer, nominated by Dick Speer, seconded by Lesley Pires.

Dennis Lawler was unanimously elected for Vice Chair, nominated by Tim Glover, seconded by Mark Saska.

Chairwoman Barbara McWilliams proposed that the next meeting be held via Zoom online, all commissioners agreed. Dennis will create a public zoom link.

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Dick Speer and seconded by Tony Fischetti. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned 7:43pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lesley Pires Secretary

The minutes are not considered official until approved at the next regular meeting of the Lake Zoar Authority to be held on Tuesday, February 6, 2024 at 7:00 pm, online via Zoom;

https://us05web.zoom.us/j/89618477516?pwd=Uzlw5e0XfKtLji1KP0yObNSkkXgqZ6.1

Meeting ID: 896 1847 7516

Passcode: uYE3f9